Interview | Katy Perry in Esquire

When I first heard about Katy Perry, and that song, you know which. I seriously thought she would just be another 1 Hit Wonder. Well, I guess I was wrong. This chick is still in the game, and she’s still trying to stay relevant. Good for her. Anyways, with an accompanying photoshoot, Katy was recently interviewed by Esquire Magazine and it was actually pretty interesting and funny. This girl sure loves her fruits. Katy Perry

From Esquire:

ESQ: What are some of your retarded dreams?

KP: I always wanted to suspend from the ceiling in a twirling banana. I’m going to be inside the banana. So the banana drops into a fruit bowl with the other sparkling, glorious fruit, and their tops pop off and dancers come out and help peel me out of the banana. I have a fascination with fruit.

ESQ: What are you trying to achieve with your persona, with your style of dress? Where does that come from?

KP: It’s Lucille Ball meets Bob Mackie. It’s about innuendo. I want everybody to get the joke, but I want them to think about it for a minute.

ESQ: What do you want to achieve? Do you want to be as big as Gwen Stefani? As big as Madonna? Bigger?

KP: I’d like to say I’d like to be as big as a Gwen or a Madonna, but I think those days of achieving that level are over. The media is bringing everybody down.
Katy Perry
ESQ: Sorry about that. How are you adjusting to the paparazzi?

KP: I don’t ever do anything to try and bring it upon myself. There are ten thousand other restaurants besides the Ivy. I’m not obsessed with getting my picture taken. You know, there’s just so much taken out of context. There’s so much nit-picking. I turned my data alerts off.

ESQ: Who were you channeling at the photo shoot?

KP: I aimed a little bit sexy with the hair. I wanted to just grow up a little bit. I’ll be twenty-five this year.

ESQ: You’re trying to grow out of the banana?

KP: No. But I can’t always play the innocent Lolita sex kitten.

ESQ: Do you think that affects the way people perceive your music?

KP: Yep. It’s the whole package. But people who want to tag along for the ride, they’ll understand and they’ll get the joke and they’ll realize that I wrote the fucking joke. [Esquire]

Whoo, this girl is just something else. Her Fruit-swagger is a mix of hot tacky ass mess and glamour. I love her though. She’s like Britney and Pink combined into one. Keep doing what you do Katy. Give them something to write about.

I kiss boys and I like it,
L

Katy PerryKaty Perry

Leave a Reply

