Intel | If All Else Fails, Doodle!

[photo: anikamari ]

True Story. When I was bored  in class during High School, instead of paying attention to the teacher,  I would always end up doodling my crush’s name on my paper & get in trouble for it. I would write his and my name with his last name or my last name,  and a bunch of different combinations inside a big heart and you know stupid shit like that.  Especially, in Algebra, I would always try to ignore what ever the hell the teacher was mouthing off. Which brings me to my point. Apparently, according to researchers in England, even though you look like your not paying attention, science says otherwise. Their research shows that test subjects who doodled while listening to a recorded message has 29 percent better recollection of the message they’ve just heard compared to the ones who didn’t doodle.

Peep what study researcher Professor Jackie Andrade, of the School of Psychology at the University of Plymouth said:

“If someone is doing a boring task, like listening to a dull telephone conversation, they may start to daydream, daydreaming distracts them from the task, resulting in poorer performance. A simple task, like doodling, may be sufficient to stop daydreaming without affecting performance on the main task.”

On how doodling helps memory:

“In psychology, tests of memory or attention will often use a second task to selectively block a particular mental process, if that process is important for the main cognitive task, then performance will be impaired. My research shows that beneficial effects of secondary tasks, such as doodling, on concentration may offset the effects of selective blockade.”

On why you should not resist the urge to doodle in everyday life:

“doodling may be something we do because it helps to keep us on track with a boring task, rather than being an unnecessary distraction that we should try to resist doing.”

So the next time your teacher busts your ass in class, doodling and not paying attention, tell that teacher straight up: Hoe!, I’m doodlin’ cuz I can’t stand lissenin’ to your boring ass and accordin’ to the University Of Plymouth, THIS is the only way I can learn somethin’ from ya

P.S the word “Doodle” is probably one of the weirdest sounding words EVER. It’s right up there with “Cumquat”. 

Leave a Reply

